Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa
Te Rau Herenga O Aotearoa

LIANZA Children and Young Adult Book Awards


Over the last 70 years the LIANZA Children and Young Adult Book Awards have celebrated excellence in children’s books in New Zealand. Starting with the Esther Glen Award in 1945, the awards grew over the years to include awards for illustration, non fiction and young adult. 

Awarded annually, the LIANZA CBA’s were judged by experienced librarians who provided a unique and practical understanding of the qualities required of award-winning children’s books. Recently LIANZA was offered the opportunity to merge our awards with the equally prestigious New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults. It wasn't a decision that we took lightly considering how vital the awards have been to our legacy. After many weeks of deliberation, negotiation and discussion, we are pleased to announce that we have merged and we look forward to working with the New Zealand Book Awards Trust as well as the New Zealand Book Council during this transition. 




LIANZA Elsie Locke Non-Fiction Award
LIANZA Esther Glen Junior Fiction Award
LIANZA Young Adult Award
LIANZA Russell Clark Illustration Award
LIANZA Te Kura Pounamu (te reo Māori)
LIANZA Librarians' Choice Award



Share this on