Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa
Te Rau Herenga O Aotearoa


LIANZA offers a variety of scholarships that recognise individual achievements and support research within the library and information sector

LIANZA Rua Mano Scholarship

E nga mana, e nga reo, e nga karangatanga maha, tēnā koutou, tēnā tātou katoa.

Each year LIANZA offers a scholarship worth $1,000 as the LIANZA National Council's commitment to tangata whenua studying librarianship and mātauranga Māori. 

The goal is to encourage and support Māori students undertaking library and information studies that strengthen their knowledge of te reo Māori and tikanga Māori.

Past recipients

Ada Fache Fund

Ada Fache (1918–1994) was a stalwart of the library profession who spent most of her career at Dunedin Public Library before her appointment as City Librarian in 1960. Ada was the second woman to hold this position at a metropolitan library. 

This annual award is aimed at supporting professional development for individuals working in isolated areas. 

List of recipients

John Harris Award

The John Harris Award is presented annually in recognition of notable published work, such as in the bibliographical, critical, historical or administrative fields, which represent a contribution to New Zealand librarianship. 

List of recipients

Paul Reynolds (No Numpties) Scholarship

Established from donations made by the National Library of New Zealand and friends of Paul Reynolds in memorial and worth a considerable $5,000, this scholarship enables successful applicant to spend time working with an overseas institution in order to research and develop specialist digital knowledge or experience. 

List of recipients

Paul Szentirmay Special Librarianship Scholarship

Established by a bequest in the will of Mr. Paul Szentirmay, FNZLA, MNZM, Tisztikereszt (Hungarian Officer’s Cross) this award is intended to be used to enhance the knowledge and development of special library and information services in New Zealand.

Paul's illustrious career began 1960, when he completed the one-year postgraduate Library School and was promptly employed by the National Library Service.

He then held positions as Librarian of BP Oil (NZ), lecturer at the Library School of Information and Knowledge Management, and Chief Librarian at the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR).

His passion for his vocation lead him to take up the position of Director of the National Library’s Reference and Interloan Services Division and finish his career as Deputy National Librarian, where he presided over the design and delivery of the new public access services at the National Library.

When he retired in 1988, Paul was awarded the NZLIA Fellowship - the highest professional accolade, awarded to those who have made a sustained contribution to library services.

Generally in the region of $2,000 this scholarship is awarded every three years and will next be awarded in 2018.

List of Recipients

Edith Jessie Carnell Travelling Scholarship

This scholarship was established as a result of a bequest in the will of Mr Archibald George William Dunningham and named in honour of Edith Jessie Carnell.

Edith Jessie Carnell was a British Librarian who worked in New Zealand between 1939-1944 as the liaison between the NZ Library Association and the Country Library Service. 

Generally in the region of $5,000 this scholarship is awarded biannually and is to be used to enhance the development of the library profession in New Zealand, and to further the continuing professional development of the successful applicant. 

Applications open in February 2018.

List of recipients


Share this on