Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa
Te Rau Herenga O Aotearoa

BOK 11 Awareness of Indigenous Knowledge Paradigms

What is included in BoK 11?

  • Understanding the importance, diversity or structure of Māori knowledge (mātauranga Māori)
  • Understanding the influence that Māori processes, philosophies and language (kaupapa, tikanga and te reo Māori) are intrinsic in Māori knowledge frameworks
  • Understanding the importance of Māori research methodologies when assisting clients with their information needs


When reflecting on your activities, ask yourself - 'What did you learn or practise in this area?'  'How did this impact on your work?'  'What did you do as a result of the activity?'


Some examples of activities include:

  1. Attending the Mātauranga Māori within NZ Libraries workshop
  2. Using the correct pronunciation of local Māori words e.g names, locations, iwi
  3. Identifying local marae, hapū and iwi
  4. Reading an article to understand what a Māori repository is, or an article about a Māori knowledge framework e.g. Te Wheke, Whare Tapa Wha
  5. Understanding marae protocols
  6. Participating in a whakatau/pōwhiri
  7. Learning the LIANZA waiata
  8. Introducing or ending your presentation with a mihi
  9. Using te reo on a daily basis e.g. greeting, farewell, emails, letters
  10. Implementing culturally appropriate protocols


BoK 11 is guided by kaupapa Māori values such as

  • Taonga (treasure, property, prized and protected as sacred possessions). Understanding the place of taonga tuku iho (the prized and sacred possessions that are handed down from one generation to the next) in contributing to the survival of Māori as a people


  • Whakatupu mātauranga (creating knowledge, new knowledge). Affirming creative activity to enhance the information and recreational needs of clients


  • Manaakitanga (Mana-enhancing behaviour towards each other, where mana is equated with influence, prestige, power). Committing to giving care and respect to clients, the organisation, and the taonga that they hold


  • Te Reo Māori Understanding that te reo Māori is vital to the identity and survival of Māori as a people. Recognising that competence in  te reo Māori has intrinsic value to the client, organisation and staff


  • Whakapapa (Tacit and explicit knowledge frameworks) Recognising whakapapa is the backbone of Māori society. Recognising whakapapa represents the growth of knowledge. Recognising all things are connected, both animate and inanimate. Recognising collections (as in libraries) have direct links to an original source. Recognising whakapapa is the layering towards both the future and the past


  • Kaitiakitanga (Preserving, maintaining and protecting all knowledge). Practising at all times the five way test for eligibility to be a recipient of restricted knowledge. The five way test consists of: Receiving information with the utmost accuracy, storing the information with integrity beyond doubt, retrieving the information without amendment, applying appropriate judgement in the use of the information, passing on the information appropriately


  • Rangatiratanga (Acknowledging the attributes of others). Demonstrating the ability to lead and unite people, and demonstrating the ability to recognise the potential of others



Share this on