Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa
Te Rau Herenga O Aotearoa

Showing You the Monies: LIANZA’s Upcoming Scholarships

Library professionals of New Zealand: it’s time to apply for some ka-ching to further your career or studies. Check out the following scholarships LIANZA has on offer – but be quick! We’ve already received a lot of applications but we want MORE! So, what are you waiting for?!


No Numpties - Paul Reynolds Scholarship

The Paul Reynolds "No Numpties" scholarship is made possible thanks to donations by the National Library of New Zealand, Internet NZ, and friends of Paul Reynolds in memorial. It is jointly managed by the National Digital Forum and LIANZA.

The scholarship, worth NZ $5,000 enables the successful applicant to spend time working at an overseas institution to research or develop specialist digital knowledge. Applications are open to those working in the digital space, or in the New Zealand Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums (GLAM) sector.  

Completed application forms must be submitted to LIANZA by no later than 30 May 2016.

How to Apply: Simply fill out the application form and supply all necessary documents including referee forms. Referee guidelines are available on our website along with specific criteria for the award and the application form.

An internship for the 2015 scholarship has been offered by the Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York, but if NYC isn’t your thing you can choose your own destination.

LIANZA Rua Mano Scholarship

E nga mana, e nga reo, e nga karangatanga maha, tēnā koutou, tēnā tātou katoa.

Each year LIANZA offers a scholarship worth $1,000 as the LIANZA National Council's commitment to tangata whenua studying librarianship and mātauranga Māori. The goal is to encourage and /or support Māori students undertaking library and information studies, and where appropriate, studies that strengthen their knowledge of te reo Māori and tikanga Māori.

The following selection criteria applies:

  • Applicants must be tangata whenua through whakapapa.
  • They must be studying for a tertiary qualification in librarianship or information studies
  • They must show commitment to whanau/hapu/iwi
  • They must display commitment to learning or fostering te reo Māori and me ona tikanga.

To apply for the Rua Mano Scholarship, applicants must provide the following Information:

  • The Qualification being undertaken in the current year
  • Tribal affiliations
  • Examples of involvement and commitment to whanau, hapu, or iwi
  • Examples of how applicant currently improves his/her commitment to te reo Māori

Deadline is 30 May, 2016

John Harris

The John Harris Award is awarded in recognition of notable published work. Established in 1961, the award is presented by the Association in recognition of notable published work, such as in the bibliographical, critical, historical or administrative fields, which represent a contribution to New Zealand librarianship. Known as "The Father of Librarianship in Nigeria", William John Harris was born in Oamaru in 1903. He went to study in England, graduating from the prestigious University College, Oxford, in 1929. From 1935 to 1948 he was head librarian at the University of Otago until his appointment in 1948 to head the library of University College, Ibadan, where he laid the foundation for modern librarianship in Nigeria.

Who’s Eligible: A work published within the previous three years may be submitted either by the author(s) or by another person (with the author's consent).

How to Apply: Simply fill out the application form from our website.

Deadline is May 30, 2016


YBP Award for Collection Services

The YBP Award for Collection Services recognises the contribution made in libraries by the staff in the areas of collection development, collection management, and acquisitions or cataloguing.

The award consists of a $2,000 grant generously donated by YBP and a citation.

How to Apply: Simply complete the entry form and either email us or post it with supporting documents to the LIANZA office. 

The deadline is June 30, 2016.


Share this on